Academic Calender

2023-2024 Academic Calendar at JMU

JMU’s academic calendar displays registration dates, add/drop deadlines, withdrawal deadlines, holidays, exam dates, and other important dates and deadlines.

The academic year at James Madison University is divided into two semesters: fall and spring. The fall semester typically begins in late August and concludes in December, whereas the spring semester typically begins in January and concludes in May.

The university also offers a six-week summer session, which is divided into two parts. The first summer session is usually from late May to early July, and the second summer session is usually from mid-July to late August.

Several holidays and breaks occur throughout the academic year, including Labour Day, Thanksgiving, winter break, Martin Luther King Jr. Day, and spring break.

Fall Semester 2023

  • August 18-21, Friday – Monday: First-year move-in is during their appointment time Friday, August 18 and Saturday, August 19.
    Transfer students move in during their appointment time on Sunday, August 20 between 8:00 a.m. and noon.
    Upper-class students move in during their appointment time on Sunday, August 20 and Monday, August 21.
  • August 23, Wednesday: Classes meet as scheduled.
  • September 12, Tuesday: Last day to withdraw from the university with cancellation of tuition charges and refund.
  • September 29-October 1, Friday-Sunday: Family Weekend
  • October 10, Tuesday: First Block courses end.
  • October 11, Wednesday: Second Block courses begin.
  • October 12, Thursday: Last day to submit an application for a Masters, Ed.S. or Doctoral degree if graduation     requirements are to be met in May or August 2024.
  • October 16, Monday: Mid-semester grades due in the Office of the Registrar.
  • October 17, Tuesday: First Block course final grades due in the Office of the Registrar.
  • October 18-22, Wednesday-Sunday: Fall Break (No Classes – University Offices Open)
  • October 27-29, Friday-Sunday: Homecoming
  • November 6, Monday: Registration begins for 2024 spring semester.
  • November 17, Friday: Comprehensive assessment results and scholarly documents are due to The Graduate School for December 2023 graduation candidates.
  • November 18, Saturday: Thanksgiving holiday begins
  • November 27, Monday: Classes resume.
  • December 8, Friday: Last day of classes.
  • December 9-15, Saturday-Friday: Final examinations.
  • December 15, Friday: Deadline for completion of course work for December graduates.
  • December 16, Saturday: December Commencement Ceremony.
  • December 18, Monday: Regular Semester and Second Block course grades due in the Office of the Registrar by 3 p.m.
Also Check  UTEP Academic Calendar 2023-2024

Winter Session 2024 (Optional Session for Students and Faculty)

  • January 2, Tuesday: Winter session 1 (one-week) and Winter Session 2 (two-week) classes meet as scheduled.
  • January 6, Saturday: Winter Session 1 Final examinations.
  • January 8, Monday: Winter session 3 (one-week) classes meet as scheduled.
  • January 9, Tuesday: Winter Session 1 Grades Due
  • January 12, Friday: Winter Session 2 and 3 Final Examinations
  • January 16, Tuesday: Winter Session 2 and 3 Grades Due

Spring Semester 2024

  • January 14, Sunday: Residence halls and Dining services open.
  • January 15, Monday: Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday. (No Classes – University Offices Closed)
  • January 16, Tuesday: Classes meet as scheduled.
  • February 6, Tuesday: Last day to withdraw from the university with cancellation of tuition charges and refund. Student Assessment/Faculty Assistance (no classes 8 a.m.- 3:55 p.m.) Evening classes (those beginning 3:55 p.m. or later) meet as scheduled.
  • March 5, Tuesday: First Block courses end.
  • March 8, Friday: Mid-semester grades due in the Office of the Registrar.
  • March 11-15, Monday-Friday: Spring Break. Classes do not meet.
  • March 18, Monday: Classes resume. Second Block courses begin.
  • March 19, Tuesday: First Block course grades due in the Office of the Registrar.
  • March 25, Monday: Advance registration for 2024 summer session begins.
  • April 8, Monday: Registration begins for 2024 fall semester.
  • April 10, Wednesday: Last day to submit an application for a Masters, Ed.S. or Doctoral degrees if graduation requirements are to be met in December 2024. Comprehensive assessment results and scholarly documents are due to The Graduate School for May 2024 graduation candidates.
  • May 2, Thursday: Last day of classes.
  • May 3-9, Friday-Thursday: Final examinations.
  • May 9, Thursday: Deadline for completion of course work for May graduates.
  • May 9-11 Thursday-Saturday: Commencement Ceremonies
  • May 14, Tuesday: Regular Semester and Second Block course grades due in the Office of the Registrar by 3 p.m.
Also Check  Emerson College Academic Calendar 2023-2024

Summer Session 2024

  • May 13, Monday: First day of one-week summer session
  • May 17, Friday: Final Exam for one-week one session
  • May 20, Monday: First day of twelve-week, ten-week, eight-week, six-week(one), four-week(one) and two-week(one) sessions.
  • May 27, Monday: Memorial Day – No classes
  • May 31, Friday: Final exam for two-week(one) session
  • June 3, Monday: First day of two-week(two) session
  • June 14, Friday: Final exam for four-week(one) and two-week(two) session
  • June 17, Monday: First day of eight-week(two) and four-week(two) session
  • June 19: Wednesday: Juneteenth – No classes
  • June 28, Friday: Final exam for six-week(one) session
  • July 1, Monday: First day of six-week(two) session.
  • July 4, Thursday: Fourth of July – No classes
  • July 10, Wednesday: Comprehensive Assessment Results & Scholarly Document Submissions Due for Aug. 2023 Graduation Candidates to The Graduate School
  • July 12, Friday:Final exam for eight-week(one)and four-week(two)
  • July 26, Friday: Final exam for ten-week session
  • August 9, Friday: Deadline for completion of course work for summer graduates
  • August 9, Friday: Final exam for six-week(two), eight-week(two) and twelve-week session.
  • August 12, Monday: First day of CLN session.
  • August 20, Tuesday: Last day of CLN summer session and CLN final exam

MU holiday schedule 2023

Here is JMU holiday schedule for 2023 as listed on the JMU academic calendar 2023.

Holiday Date
New Year’s Day Monday, January 2, 2023
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, January 16, 2023
Spring Break Monday, March 13 2023 – Friday, March 17, 2023
Memorial Day Monday, May 29, 2023
Juneteenth Monday, June 19, 2023
Independence Day Monday, July 4, 2023
Labor Day Monday, September 4, 2023
Fall Break Wednesday, October 18, 2023 – Sunday, October 22, 2023
Veterans Day Friday, November 10, 2023
Thanksgiving Break Saturday, November 18, 2023 – Sunday, November 26, 2023
Winter Break Sunday, December 17, 2023 – Monday, January 2, 2024
Also Check  Important Dates for TAMU Academic Calendar 2023-2024

JMU holiday schedule 2023.

Please note that this schedule is subject to change and may be adjusted by the university. It’s always a good idea to double-check with the official JMU academic calendar.

For more on JMU academic calendar 2023-2024, visit the JMU Registrar website.

Leave a Comment