Academic Calender

Academic calendar for Penn State in 2023-2024

Penn State, officially known as the Pennsylvania State University, is a massive public research university system in Pennsylvania, USA. It’s one of the top-ranked universities in the country and even the world, consistently placing among the top 1%.

Penn State Academic Calendar 2023-2024 displays important academic dates such as the first day of classes, deadlines for adding and dropping classes, final exam days, graduation dates, holidays, spring break, winter break, fall break, and so on.

Penn State University follows the semester system. The academic year is divided into two semesters: fall semester, which starts in late August and ends in December, and spring semester, which starts in January and ends in May.

If you are a new or continuing student at The Pennsylvania State University, it is critical that you review the PSU academic calendar 2023-2024.

Penn State Fall 2023 – Regular Session/Penn State academic calendar 2023-2024

  • Penn State Fall 2023 Intent to Graduate – The activation Period is on Monday, August 14 – Tuesday, September 5, 2023
  • Leave of Absence for Penn State Fall 2023 – The Deadline is on Friday, August 18, 2023
  • Penn State Fall 2023 Registration – The deadline is on Sunday, August 20, 2023
  • Penn State Fall 2023 Classes Begin Monday, August 21, 2023
  • Penn State Fall 2023 Regular Drop – The deadline begins on 2 Saturday, August 26 2023 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Fall 2023 Regular Add – Deadline begins 2 Sunday, August 27 2023 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Fall 2023 Late Drop Begins on 2 Sunday, August 27, 2023
  • Penn State Fall 2023 Late Registration Begins 2 Monday, August 28, 2023
  • Labor Day – No Classes for Penn State Fall 2023is on Monday, September 4, 2023
  • Penn State Fall 2023 Final Exam Conflict – The filing Period begins on Monday, September 25 – Sunday, October 15, 2023
  • Penn State Fall 2023 Late Registration – Deadline 2 Friday, November 10 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Fall 2023 Late Add – Deadline is 2 Friday, November 10 2023 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Fall 2023 Late Drop – The deadline is on 2 Friday, November 10 2023 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Fall 2023 Declare Concurrent Majors, Minors, or Certificates – Deadline (Graduating Students) is Friday, November 10, 2023
  • Thanksgiving Holiday – No Classes for Penn State Fall 2023 start on Sunday, November 19 – Saturday, November 25, 2023
  • Penn State Withdrawal – The deadline begins Friday, December 8 2023 at 5:00 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Fall 2023 Classes End Friday, December 8, 2023
  • Penn State Study Days begin Saturday, December 9 – Sunday, December 10, 2023
  • Penn State Fall 2023 Final Exams start on Monday, December 11 – Friday, December 15, 2023
  • Commencement for Penn State Fall 2023 is on 3 Saturday, December 16, 2023

Penn State Spring 2024 – Regular Session/Penn state graduation 2023

  • Penn State Spring 2024 Intent to Graduate – The activation Period is on Tuesday, January 2 – Monday, January 22, 2024
  • Leave of Absence for Penn State Spring 2024 – Deadline begins Friday, January 5, 2024
  • Penn State Spring 2024 Registration – Deadline starts Sunday, January 7, 2024
  • Penn State Spring 2024 Classes Begin Monday, January 8, 2024
  • Penn State Spring 2024 Regular Drop – Deadline begins 2 Saturday, January 13 2024 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Spring 2024 Regular Add – The deadline is on 2 Sunday, January 14 2024 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Spring 2024 Late Drop Begins 2 Sunday, January 14, 2024
  • Penn State Spring 2024 Late Registration Begins 2 Monday, January 15, 2024
  • Martin Luther King Day – No Classes for Penn State Spring 2024 begin on Monday, January 15, 2024
  • Penn State Spring 2024 Final Exam Conflict – The filing Period begins on Monday, February 12 – Sunday, March 3, 2024
  • Spring Break – No Classes for Penn State Spring 2024 on Sunday, March 3 – Saturday, March 9, 2024
  • Penn State Spring 2024 Late Registration – Deadline starts 2 Friday, April 5 2024 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Spring 2024 Late Add – Deadline is 2 Friday, April 5 2024 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Spring 2024 Late Drop – Deadline is 2 Friday, April 5 2024 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Spring 2024 Declare Concurrent Majors, Minors, or Certificates – Deadline (Graduating Students) Friday, April 5, 2024
  • Penn State Withdrawal – The deadline is Friday, April 26 2024 at 5:00 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Spring 2024  Classes End Friday, April 26, 2024
  • Penn State Study Days begin Saturday, April 27 – Sunday, April 28, 2024
  • Penn State Spring 2024 Final Exams begin Monday, April 29 – Friday, May 3, 2024
  • Commencement for Penn State Spring 2024 is on 3 Friday, May 3 – Sunday, May 5, 2024
Also Check  BYU Academic Calendar 2023-2024: Important Dates & Deadlines

Penn State Summer 2024 – Maymester

  • Penn State Summer 2024 Registration – The deadline is on Sunday, May 5, 2024
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Intent to Graduate – The activation Period begins Monday, May 6 – Friday, June 14, 2024
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Classes Begin Monday, May 6, 2024
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Regular Drop – The deadline is Tuesday, May 7 2024 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Regular Add – Deadline begins Wednesday, May 8 2024 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Late Drop Begins Wednesday, May 8, 2024
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Late Registration Begins Thursday, May 9, 2024
  • Memorial Day Holiday – No Classes for Penn State Summer 2024 is Monday, May 27, 2024
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Late Registration – The deadline starts Tuesday, May 28 2024 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Late Add – The deadline is Tuesday, May 28 2024 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Late Drop – The deadline is Tuesday, May 28 2024  at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Withdrawal – The deadline is Monday, June 3 2024 at 5:00 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Classes End Monday, June 3, 2024
  • Penn State Study Days begin Tuesday, June 4, 2024
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Final Exams is on Wednesday, June 5, 2024
  • Penn State Declare Concurrent Majors, Minors, or Certificates – Deadline (Graduating Students) is Monday, July 29, 2024
  • Commencement for Penn State Summer 2024 is Saturday, August 10, 2024

Penn State Summer 2024 – First 6-Week Session

  • Penn State Summer 2024 Registration – Deadline begins Sunday, May 12, 2024
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Intent to Graduate – The activation Period is on Monday, May 6 – Friday, June 14
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Classes Begin Monday, May 13, 2024
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Regular Drop – The deadline is Wednesday, May 15 2024 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Regular Add – The deadline is on Thursday, May 16 2024 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Late Drop Begins Thursday, May 16, 2024
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Late Registration Begins Friday, May 17, 2024
  • Memorial Day Holiday – No Classes for Penn State Summer 2024 is Monday, May 27, 2024
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Late Registration – The deadline is Thursday, June 13 2024 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Late Add – The deadline begins on Wednesday, June 12 2024 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Late Drop – The deadline start on Wednesday, June 12 2024 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Juneteenth Holiday – No Classes for Penn State Summer 2024 is Wednesday, June 19, 2024
  • Penn State Withdrawal – The deadline is on Friday, June 21 2024 at 5:00 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Classes End Friday, June 21, 2024
  • Penn State Study Days start Saturday, June 22 – Sunday, June 23, 2024
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Final Exams start on Monday, June 24, 2024
  • Penn State Declare Concurrent Majors, Minors, or Certificates – Deadline (Graduating Students) is on Monday, July 29, 2024
  • Commencement for Penn State Summer 2024 is on Saturday, August 10, 2024
Also Check  CUNY Academic Calendar 2023-2024

Penn State Summer 2024 – Second 6-Week Session/Penn state graduation 2023

  • Penn State Summer 2024 Registration – Deadline Tuesday, June 25, 2024
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Intent to Graduate – The activation Period is Monday, May 6 – Friday, June 14, 2024
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Classes Begin Wednesday, June 26, 2024
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Regular Drop – The deadline is on Friday, June 28 2024 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Regular Add – Deadline is Saturday, June 29 2024 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Late Drop Begins Saturday, June 29, 2024
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Late Registration Begins Sunday, June 30, 2024
  • Independence Day Holiday – No Classes for Penn State Summer 2024 on Thursday, July 4, 2024
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Late Registration – Deadline begins Monday, July 29 2024 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Late Add – Deadline starts Monday, July 29 2024 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Late Drop – Deadline begins Monday, July 29 2024 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Summer Declare Concurrent Majors, Minors, or Certificates – Deadline (Graduating Students) begins Monday, July 29, 2024
  • Penn State Withdrawal – The deadline begins on Wednesday, August 7 2024 at 5:00 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Classes End Wednesday, August 7, 2024
  • Penn State Study Days begin Thursday, August 8, 2024
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Final Exams begin on Friday, August 9, 2024
  • Commencement for Penn State Summer 2024 is on Saturday, August 10, 2024

Penn State Summer 2024 – Regular Session/Penn state graduation 2023

  • Penn State Summer 2024 Intent to Graduate – The activation Period is on Monday, May 6 – Friday, June 14, 2024
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Registration – The deadline is on Sunday, May 12, 2024
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Classes Begin Monday, May 13, 2024
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Regular Drop – The deadline begins on 2 Friday, May 17 2024 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Regular Add – Deadline begins 2 Saturday, May 18 2024 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Late Drop Begins 2 Saturday, May 18, 2024
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Late Registration Begins 2 Sunday, May 19, 2024
  • Memorial Day Holiday – No Classes for Penn State Summer 2024 is Monday, May 27, 2024
  • Juneteenth Holiday – No Classes for Penn State Summer 2024 is Wednesday, June 19
  • Independence Day Holiday – No Classes for Penn State Summer 2024 is Thursday, July 4
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Late Registration – The deadline is 2 Friday, July 19 2024 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Late Add – Deadline starts 2 Friday, July 19 2024 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Late Drop – Deadline begins 2 Friday, July 19 2024 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Declare Concurrent Majors, Minors, or Certificates – Deadline (Graduating Students) is on Monday, July 29, 2024
  • Penn State Withdrawal – The deadline is Wednesday, August 7 2024 at 5:00 p.m. (ET)
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Classes End Wednesday, August 7, 2024
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Study Days begin Thursday, August 8, 2024
  • Penn State Summer 2024 Final Exams begin Friday, August 9, 2024
  • Commencement for Penn State Summer 2024 is on Saturday, August 10, 2024
Also Check  UAB Academic Calendar 2023-2024

Penn State semester classification

Semester classification or Class standing (sometimes referred to as “class level” or “classification”) is a traditional designation used to define a student’s progress toward their graduation goal. Undergraduate students are classified according to the number of credits earned (institutional and transfer credits).

An undergraduate degree candidate’s semester classification is used to establish how early a student may register, assign classes with a prerequisite semester classification, change of campus assignment, tuition calculation, and eligibility for parking on campus.

What is your semester standing at PSU?

This classification is based on the following table of credits earned.

Total Credits Earned Semester Classification Status
14.0 or fewer 1 First-Year Student
14.1 to 29 2 First-Year Student
29.1 to 44 3 Sophomore
44.1 to 59 4 Sophomore
59.1 to 74 5 Junior
74.1 to 89 6 Junior
89.1 to 104 7 Senior
104.1 to 119 8 Senior
119.1 to 134 9 Senior
134.1 to 149 10 Senior
149.1 or more 11 Senior

Leave a Comment