Academic Calender

Calendar of Important Dates for UVic in 2023-2024

The University of Victoria (UVic) has a diverse range of important dates for the 2023-2024 academic year. These dates include key events such as term start and end dates, exam periods, and holiday breaks. The following calendar outlines these important dates to help students plan their academic year effectively.

Holidays that fall on a weekend are observed on the following available weekday, typically a Monday. The UVic Libraries are normally closed on holidays; however, exceptions are posted in advance.

UVic’s one-term courses typically count for 1.5 units. To graduate from most UVic programs, you must complete 60 units of coursework. Some courses, such as year-long ones, can count for three units.

The UVic calendar includes important dates and deadlines for both winter and summer sessions.

Uvic important dates for winter session first term 2023

Check out the UVic important dates and deadlines on the UVic academic calendar for the Winter session first term of 2023.

  1. UVic Move-in day 2023 is Sunday, September 3, 2023. The University of Victoria’s move-in day is a big day at UVic. You’ll receive detailed information from us via email before you get here, so stay tuned and check your email.
  2. Labour Day holiday is Monday, September 4, 2023.
  3. Tuesday, September 5, 2023 is the first year of registration and opening assembly for the Faculty of Law.
  4. UVic Winter Session first term classes start on Wednesday, September 6, 2023 for all faculties. It is Uvic’s first day of classes in 2023.
  5. Thursday, September 14, 2023 is the last day for course changes in the Faculty of Law.
  6. The last day for 100% reduction of tuition fees for the standard first term and full year courses is Tuesday, September 19, 2023. 50% of tuition fees will be assessed for courses dropped after this date. For non-standard courses see undergraduate and graduate Course add and drop dates.
  7. Friday, September 22, 2023 is the last day for graduate students to register for personal leave in the first term.
  8. The last day for adding courses that begin in the first term is Friday, September 22, 2023.
  9. Saturday, September 30, 2023 is the last day for paying first term fees without penalty.
  10. National Day for Truth and Reconciliation is Monday, October 2, 2023.
  11. According to UVic important Dates, Senate meets on Friday, October 6, 2023.
  12. UVic Thanksgiving Day 2023 is Monday, October 9, 2023.
  13. The last day for 50% reduction of tuition fees for standard courses is Tuesday, October 10, 2023. 100% of tuition fees will be assessed for courses dropped after this date. For non-standard courses see undergraduate and graduate Course add and drop dates.
  14. Senate Committee on Academic Standards meets to approve Convocation lists on Wednesday, October 18, 2023.
  15. The last day for withdrawing from first term courses without penalty of failure is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.
  16. Senate meets on Friday, November 3, 2023.
  17. UVic Winter Reading Break 2023 for all faculties is from Monday, November 13, 2023 to Wednesday, November 15, 2023.
  18. Remembrance Day is Monday, November 13, 2023.
  19. Uvic Fall Convocation 2023 is from Tuesday, November 14, 2023 to Wednesday, November 15, 2023.
  20. Faculty of Graduate Studies deadline to apply to graduate for Spring Convocation is Wednesday, November 15, 2023. Students completing in the Fall term only.
  21. Senate meets on Friday, December 1, 2023.
  22. National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence Against Women is on Monday, December 4, 2023. Classes and exams are cancelled from 11:30 am – 12:30 pm.
  23. The last day of classes in the winter first term for all faculties is Monday, December 4, 2023 (Friday course schedule).
  24. Uvic Winter First-term 2023 examinations begin for all faculties from Thursday, December 7, 2023 to Wednesday, December 20, 2023.
  25. Friday, December 15, 2023 is the Undergraduate deadline to apply to graduate for Spring Convocation.
  26. The University of Victoria, UVic winter break 2023 is from Thursday, December 21, 2023 to Sunday, January 7, 2024.
Also Check  UTRGV Academic Calendar 2023-2024

Uvic important dates for Winter session second term 2024

Check out the UVic important dates and deadlines on the UVic academic calendar for the Winter session second term of 2024.

  1. Senate meets on Friday, January 5, 2024.
  2. UVIC Winter Session Second term 2024 classes start for all faculties on Monday, January 8, 2024.
  3. The last day for adding or dropping courses in the Faculty of Law is Thursday, January 18, 2024.
  4. For standard courses, the last day for a 100% reduction of second term fees is Sunday, January 21, 2024.
  5. 50% of tuition fees will be assessed for courses dropped after January 21, 2024. For non-standard courses, refer to undergraduate and graduate course add and drop dates.
  6. Graduate students have until Sunday, January 21, 2024, to register in a personal leave in the second term.
  7. The last day for adding courses that begin in the second term (except for the Faculty of Law) is Wednesday, January 24, 2024.
  8. The last day for paying second term fees without penalty is Wednesday, January 31, 2024.
  9. Senate meets on Friday, February 2, 2024.
  10. The last day for a 50% reduction of tuition fees for standard courses is Sunday, February 11, 2024.
  11. 100% of tuition fees will be assessed for courses dropped after February 11, 2024. For non-standard courses, refer to undergraduate and graduate course add and drop dates.
  12. The Faculty of Graduate Studies deadline to apply to graduate for Spring Convocation is Thursday, February 15, 2024.
  13. University is closed for Family Day on Monday, February 19, 2024.
  14. UVIC Reading Break 2024 for all faculties is from Monday, February 19, to Friday, February 23, 2024.
  15. The last day for withdrawing from full year and second term courses without penalty of failure is Thursday, February 29, 2024.
  16. According to UVIC Important Dates 2024, Senate meets on Friday, March 1, 2024.
  17. The first registration date for Summer Session 2024 is Monday, March 11, 2024.
  18. University is closed for Good Friday on Friday, March 29, 2024, and closed for Easter Monday on Monday, April 1, 2024.
  19. Senate meets on Friday, April 5, 2024.
  20. The last day of classes for all faculties is Monday, April 8, 2024.
  21. Examinations begin for all faculties on Thursday, April 11, 2024, to Friday, April 26, 2024.
  22. The winter session concludes at the end of April 2024.
Also Check  Academic Calendar for NDSU 2023-2024: Important Dates

For more on UVic important dates 2023-2024, visit the University of Victoria’s academic calendar website.