Academic Calender

Kent State Academic Calendar 2023-2024

The Kent State University Academic Calendar for the 2023-2024 academic year provides essential information regarding the important dates, events, and deadlines for students, faculty, and staff. This calendar outlines the academic terms, holidays, exam periods, and other key dates that help students and university members plan their schedules effectively.

Spring 2024

Event Date
Spring classes begin for first- and second-year Podiatric Medicine students Mon, Jan 2, 2024
Spring international student orientation Thu, Jan 11, 2024
Spring graduate student orientation Fri, Jan 12, 2024
Martin Luther King Jr Day (note 1) Mon, Jan 15, 2024
Spring classes begin Tue, Jan 16, 2024
Deadline for associate degree candidates to apply for May 2024 graduation Fri, Jan 19, 2024
Deadline for master’s and doctoral degree and certificate candidates to apply for May 2024 graduation Fri, Jan 19, 2024
Spring classes end for fourth-year Podiatric Medicine students Fri, Feb 2, 2024
Summer classes begin for fourth-year Podiatric Medicine students Mon, Feb 5, 2024
Spring classes end for third-year Podiatric Medicine students Fri, Mar 8, 2024
Spring final examinations for third-year Podiatric Medicine students Mon-Fri, Mar 11-22, 2024
Deadline for bachelor’s degree candidates to apply for December 2024 graduation Fri, Mar 15, 2024
Spring break (note 2) Mon-Sun, Mar 25-31, 2024
Summer classes begin for third-year Podiatric Medicine students Mon, Apr 1, 2024
Spring classes end for first- and second-year Podiatric Medicine students Fri, Apr 26, 2024
Spring final examinations for first- and second-year Podiatric Medicine students Mon-Fri, Apr 29-May 10, 2024
Remembrance Day (note 3) Sat, May 4, 2024
Summer classes end for fourth-year Podiatric Medicine students Sat, May 4, 2024
Spring classes end Sun, May 5, 2024
Spring final examinations Mon-Sun, May 6-12, 2024
Spring commencements Thu-Sun, May 9-12, 2024
Spring commencement for College of Podiatric Medicine Fri, May 17, 2024
Summer classes begin for first-year Podiatric Medicine students Mon, May 20, 2024
Also Check  UW Madison Academic Calendar 2023-2024: Important Dates

Summer 2024

Event Date
Practical experiences classes begin Mon, May 13, 2024
First 7-week classes begin Mon, May 13, 2024
12-week classes begin Mon, May 20, 2024
3-week classes begin Mon, May 20, 2024
First 6-week classes begin Mon, May 20, 2024
8-week classes begin Mon, May 20, 2024
Summer classes begin for first- and second-year Podiatric Medicine students Mon, May 20, 2024
Deadline for associate degree candidates to apply for August 2024 graduation Fri, May 24, 2024
Deadline for master’s and doctoral degree and certificate candidates to apply for August 2024 graduation Fri, May 24, 2024
Memorial Day (note 1) Mon, May 27, 2024
First 5-week classes begin Tue, May 28, 2024
Summer classes end for third-year Podiatric Medicine students Fri, May 31, 2024
3-week classes end Sun, Jun 9, 2024
Summer classes end for second-year Podiatric Medicine students Thu, Jun 13, 2024
Juneteenth National Independence Day observed (note 1) Wed, Jun 19, 2024
Second 7-week classes begin Mon, Jun 24, 2024
Summer classes end for first-year Podiatric Medicine students Fri, Jun 28, 2024
First 5-week classes end Sun, Jun 30, 2024
First 6-week classes end Sun, Jun 30, 2024
First 7-week classes end Sun, Jun 30, 2024
Second 5-week classes begin Mon, Jul 1, 2024
Second 6-week classes begin Mon, Jul 1, 2024
Summer final examinations for first-year Podiatric Medicine students Mon-Fri, Jul 1-12, 2024
Independence Day observed (note 1) Thu, Jul 4, 2024
8-week classes end Sun, Jul 14, 2024
Second 5-week classes end Sun, Aug 4, 2024
Summer commencement Sat, Aug 10, 2024
Second 6-week classes end Sun, Aug 11, 2024
Second 7-week classes end Sun, Aug 11, 2024
Practical experience classes end Sun, Aug 11, 2024
12-week classes end Sun, Aug 11, 2024
Also Check  CSUF Academic Calendar 2023-2024

Calendar Notes

  1. Observed state-designated holiday; no classes are scheduled and university offices are closed.

Fall 2024

Event Date
Fall international student orientation Wed, Aug 14, 2024
Fall graduate student orientation Thu, Aug 15, 2024
University convocation Fri, Aug 16, 2024
KSU Kickoff Thu-Sun, Aug 15-18, 2024
Fall classes begin Mon, Aug 19, 2024
Deadline for associate degree candidates to apply for December 2024 graduation Fri, Aug 23, 2024
Deadline for master’s and doctoral degree and certificate candidates to apply for December 2024 graduation Fri, Aug 23, 2024
Labor Day (note 1) Mon, Sep 2, 2024
Deadline for bachelor’s degree and undergraduate certificate candidates to apply for May 2025 graduation Sun, Sep 15, 2024
Fall Break (note 2) Thu-Sun, Oct 3-6, 2024
Fall classes end for fourth-year Podiatric Medicine students Fri, Oct 4, 2024
Spring classes begin for fourth-year Podiatric Medicine students Mon, Oct 7, 2024
Fall classes end for third-year Podiatric Medicine students Fri, Nov 1, 2024
Fall final examinations for third-year Podiatric Medicine students Mon-Fri, Nov 4-15, 2024
Veterans Day observed (note 1) Mon, Nov 11, 2024
Spring classes begin for third-year Podiatric Medicine students Mon, Nov 18, 2024
Fall classes end for first- and second-year Podiatric Medicine students Tue, Nov 26, 2024
Thanksgiving Break (note 2) Wed-Sun, Nov 27-Dec 1, 2024
Thanksgiving Day (note 1) Thu, Nov 28, 2024
Columbus Day observed (note 3) Fri, Nov 29, 2024
Fall final examinations for first- and second-year Podiatric Medicine students Mon-Fri, Dec 2-13, 2024
Fall classes end Sun, Dec 8, 2024
Fall final examinations Mon-Sun, Dec 9-15, 2024
Deadline for bachelor’s degree and undergraduate certificate candidates to apply for August 2025 graduation Sun, Dec 15, 2024
Fall commencement Fri-Sat, Dec 13-14, 2024
Holiday schedule (note 4) Tue-Wed, Dec 24, 2024-Jan 1, 2025
Presidents Day observed (note 5) Tue, Dec 24, 2024
Christmas Day observed (note 1) Wed, Dec 25, 2024
New Year’s Day observed (note 1) Wed, Jan 1, 2025
Also Check  UMD Academic Calendar 2023-2024

Calendar Notes

  1. Observed state-designated holiday; no classes are scheduled, and university offices are closed.
  2. No classes are scheduled during break; university campuses and offices are open.
  3. Columbus Day is a movable state-designated holiday, observed the day after Thanksgiving; no classes are scheduled, and university offices are closed.
  4. Information about Kent State University’s holiday closure schedule will be posted on the Human Resources website.
  5. Presidents Day is a movable state-designated holiday, observed contiguous with Christmas Day; no classes are scheduled, and university offices are closed.

Leave a Comment