Academic Calender

Northeastern Academic Calendar 2023-2024

As a student, you should be aware of the Northeastern academic calendar 2023-2024, which includes important dates such as semester starts and ends, holidays, and registration deadlines.

Northeastern University’s academic year is divided into four quarters: fall, winter, spring, and summer. Each quarter lasts ten weeks, followed by one week of final exams.

After the final exams, students have a break before the start of the next quarter. The Fall, Winter, and Spring quarters each consist of 12-credit hours, while the Summer quarter is typically lighter, with 8-credit hours.

Here are the key events on the academic calendar of Northeastern University, as listed on the registrar’s website.

Northeastern academic calendar Fall 2023

The fall semester at Northeastern typically begins in early September and runs through mid-December.

The Northeastern academic calendar for 2023-2024 for the fall semester typically includes the following important dates:

  1. Fall class offerings are posted on the web for graduates and undergraduates on Monday, March 20, 2023, according to the Northeastern Academic Calendar 2023-2024.
  2. The first day of fall class registration for continuing students (Graduate school) is Friday, April 7, 2023.
  3. The first day of fall class registration for continuing students (Undergraduate) is Monday, April 10, 2023.
  4. The first day of fall class registration for new students of Graduate school is Wednesday, May 10, 2023.
  5. Northeastern University fall 2023 classes start on Wednesday, September 6, 2023
  6. The last day to add classes is Tuesday, September 12, 2023.
  7. Indigenous Peoples Day, (no classes) on Monday, October 9, 2023.
  8. The last day to drop classes with a W grade is November 3, 2023.
  9. Veterans Day Observance (University Closed) is Saturday, November 11, 2023.
  10. Northeastern University’s fall break 2023 is from Wednesday, November 22, 2023, to Sunday, November 26, 2023.
  11. Thanksgiving Break 2023 is from November 23, 2023, to November 24, 2023.
  12. Classes resume on Monday, November 27, 2023.
  13. The last day of fall 2023 classes is Wednesday, December 6, 2023
  14. The last day to drop a fall class with a W grade is Thursday, December 7, 2023.
  15. The reading period for fall 2023 is from Thursday, December 7, 2023.
  16. Northeastern University Final exams are from Friday, December 8, 2023, to Friday, December 15, 2023.
  17. Northeastern University’s fall graduation 2023 is on Saturday, December 16, 2023.
  18. Northeastern winter break 2023-2024 is from Monday, December 18, 2023, to Sunday, January 7, 2023.
Also Check  Academic calendar for Penn State in 2023-2024

Northeastern academic calendar spring 2024

The Northeastern academic calendar for 2023-2024 for the spring 2024 semester includes the following important dates:

  1. Thursday, January 4, 2024 is when undergraduate students begin the “I Am Here” process for spring classes.
  2. Northeastern Spring 2024 classes start for undergraduate students on Monday, January 8, 2024.
  3. Tuesday, January 9, 2024 is the deadline for the “I Am Here” process for spring classes, after which uncompleted registrations will be dropped at 4:00 p.m. ET.
  4. Monday, January 15, 2024 is observed as Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, resulting in no classes.
  5. Wednesday, January 17, 2024 is the final day for online class additions for spring classes.
  6. On Monday, January 22, 2024, it’s the last day for students to opt for pass/fail grading for spring classes (may be extended by the instructor to March 1).
  7. The deadline for dropping a spring class without a W grade for undergraduate students is Monday, January 29, 2024.
  8. Summer class offerings are posted on the web for undergraduate students starting on Monday, January 29, 2024.
  9. Thursday, February 1, 2024 marks the deadline for filing a Final Exam Conflict Form for spring classes.
  10. Monday, February 19, 2024 has no classes held in observance of Presidents Day.
  11. Tuesday, February 20, 2024 is the beginning of summer class registration for continuing students.
  12. Northeastern Spring Break 2024 is from Monday, March 4, 2024 to Sunday, March 10, 2024. Classes resume following the spring break on Monday, March 11, 2024.
  13. Monday, March 18, 2024 is when fall class offerings are posted on the web for undergraduate students.
  14. There are no classes on Friday, March 29, 2024, on account of Good Friday (Charlotte only).
  15. Cesar Chavez Day results in no classes observed on Sunday, March 31, 2024, for Oakland, San Francisco & Silicon Valley only.
  16. Monday, April 1, 2024, observes Cesar Chavez Day (Oakland, San Francisco & Silicon Valley only), resulting in no classes.
  17. Fall class registration commences for continuing undergraduate students on Monday, April 8, 2024.
  18. No classes are held on Monday, April 15, 2024, in observance of Patriots Day (Boston & Portland only).
  19. Wednesday, April 17, 2024, marks the last day of spring classes for undergraduate students.
  20. Thursday, April 18, 2024, is the deadline for dropping a spring class with a W grade for undergraduate students.
  21. April 18, 2024, is designated as a reading day for spring classes.
  22. The final exams for spring classes are initiated on Friday, April 19, 2024.
  23. The final exams for spring 2024 classes culminate on Friday, April 26, 2024.
  24. Saturday, April 27, 2024, is designated as the final exam makeup day for spring classes, if necessary.
  25. Saturday, April 27, 2024, is the spring degree conferral date for undergraduate students.
  26. Monday, April 29, 2024, is the deadline for faculty to submit grades by 2:00 p.m. ET for spring classes.
  27. The summer break for undergraduate students commences on Monday, April 29, 2024.
Also Check  2023-2024 Academic Calendar at CMU

Northeastern University has a well-planned academic calendar that includes important dates for each semester. Be sure to review the calendar and make note of important dates such as registration deadlines, holidays, and final exam dates.

For more on Northeastern academic calendar, please visit the Northeastern University calendar website.

Leave a Comment