Academic Calender

SMU Academic Calendar 2023-2024

Singapore Management University (SMU) is a prestigious university located in Singapore, offering a wide range of undergraduate, graduate, and professional programs. The academic calendar for the 2023-2024 academic year is as follows:

SMU academic calendar fall 2023

Below are the important dates and deadlines on the SMU academic calendar for fall 2023.

  1. SMU Fall 2023 enrollment for continuing students for all undergraduates and for graduates in Dedman College, Lyle, Meadows, and Simmons is from Monday, April 3, 2023, to Friday, August 25, 2023.
  2. Opening Convocation is at McFarlin Auditorium on Sunday, August 20, 2023.
  3. SMU fall 2023 classes start on Monday, August 21, 2023. It is the first day of classes in the fall 2023 semester.
  4. The last day to enroll, add a course, or drop a course without tuition billing while remaining enrolled for the term is Friday, August 25, 2023.
  5. The last day to file for SMU graduation 2023 in December is Friday, August 25, 2023.
  6. The last day to drop a course without an academic record (tuition charges apply) is Friday, September 1, 2023. It is also the last day to withdraw from the university without an academic record (withdrawal refund schedule applies). See Bursar’s website for more information.
  7. Labor Day holiday is Monday, September 4, 2023. There are no classes on Labor day 2023 and Southern Methodist University offices are closed.
  8. The last day to declare pass/fail or no credit grading options is Wednesday, September 6, 2023. It is also the last day to request an excused absence for the observance of a religious holiday (Census Date).
  9. Early intervention grades are due for designated undergraduate students on Tuesday, September 26, 2023, according to the SMU academic calendar 2023-2024.
  10. The last day for continuing undergraduate students to change their majors before November enrollment is Wednesday, September 27, 2023.
  11. Family Weekend is Friday, September 29, 2023, and Saturday, September 30, 2023.
  12. SMU Fall Break 2023 is from Monday, October 9, 2023, to Tuesday, October 10, 2023.
  13. Midterm grades are due for undergraduate students on Monday, October 23, 2023.
  14. SMU Homecoming Weekend 2023 is on Friday, October 27, 2023, and Saturday, October 28, 2023.
  15. Friday, November 3, 2023, is the last day to drop a course (grade of W). (This date does not apply to courses in which the last class meeting and final exam have occurred).
  16. The last day for December graduation candidates to change grades of Incomplete, and to obtain a final grade for a grade of X or a missing grade from a previous term is Thursday, November 9, 2023.
  17. SMU students should file for May 2024 graduation starting from Monday, November 13, 2023. The last day to file is January 22, 2024.
  18. Tuesday, November 21, 2023, is the last day to withdraw from the University. This date does not apply to courses in which the last class meeting and final exam have occurred.
  19. SMU Thanksgiving break2 023 is from Wednesday, November 22, 2023, to Friday, November 24, 2023. There are no classes and University offices are closed during the Thanksgiving holidays. Classes resume on Monday, November 27, 2023.
  20. There are no final examinations or unscheduled tests and papers from Wednesday, November 29, 2023, to Monday, December 4, 2023.
  21. Thursday, November 30, 2023, is the last day for oral/written examinations for December graduate degree candidates.
  22. The last day of classes is Monday, December 4, 2023.
  23. Reading days for fall 2023 are Tuesday, December 5, 2023, and Wednesday, December 6, 2023.
  24. SMU Fall 2023 final examinations are from Thursday, December 7, 2023, to Wednesday, December 13, 2023. There are No examinations scheduled for Sunday.
  25. Residence halls close at 10:00 a.m. on Thursday, December 14, 2023, for winter break. December graduates should contact the Department of Residence Life and Student Housing.
  26. SMU Winter break 2023 is from Thursday, December 14, 2023, to Monday, January 15, 2024.
  27. Friday, December 15, 2023, is December Rotunda Recessional.
  28. December Commencement is on Saturday, December 16, 2023. It is the official close of the fall term and the conferral of degrees.
Also Check  CU Boulder Academic Calendar 2023-2024

SMU academic calendar spring 2024

Below are the important dates and deadlines on the SMU academic calendar for Spring 2024.

  1. Enrollment for Spring 2024 continues for all undergraduates and graduates in Dedman College, Lyle, Meadows, and Simmons from October 30, 2023, to January 22, 2024.
  2. In January 2024, there will be Virtual Orientation experiences for new first-year and transfer undergraduate students, and more information about Virtual Orientation can be found on the Office of the Student Experience website, Student Affairs, 214-768-4560, at https://www.smu.edu/studentaffairs/newstudent.
  3. New Year’s Day falls on Monday, January 1, 2024, with university offices closed.
  4. Monday, January 15, 2024, marks the observance of Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, with university offices closed.
  5. The first day of classes for the Spring 2024 term is Tuesday, January 16, 2024. SMU Spring 2024 classes start.
  6. Monday, January 22, 2024, is the last day to enroll, add a course, or drop a course without tuition billing while remaining enrolled for the term.
  7. Monday, January 29, 2024, is the last day to drop a course without an academic record (tuition charges apply) and to withdraw from the university without an academic record (withdrawal refund schedule applies), with further details available on the Bursar’s website.
  8. Wednesday, January 31, 2024, marks the last day to declare a no-credit grading option for a course (see UG Catalog for specific information), request an excused absence for the observance of a religious holiday, and file for graduation in May (Census Date).
  9. Friday, February 16, 2024, is the last day for continuing undergraduate students to change their majors before Summer/Fall enrollment.
  10. Early intervention grades for undergraduate students are due on Tuesday, February 20, 2024.
  11. SMU Spring break 2024 will take place from Monday, March 11, 2024, to Sunday, March 17, 2024. Classes resume on Monday, March 18, 2024, after the Southern Methodist University Spring break week of 2024.
  12. Midterm grades will be due for undergraduate students on Wednesday, March 20, 2024.
  13. Thursday, March 28, 2024, marks the 60 percent point of the term that federal financial aid has been earned if a student officially withdraws from SMU, requiring a partial calculated return to federal programs before this date.
  14. University offices will be closed on Friday, March 29, 2024, in observance of Good Friday.
  15. Sunday, March 31, 2024, is Easter Sunday.
  16. Enrollment for Summer 2024 and Fall 2024 continuing students for all undergraduates and graduates in Dedman College, Lyle, Meadows, and Simmons will take place from Monday, April 1, 2024, to Friday, April 19, 2024, according to the SMU academic calendar 2024-2025.
  17. Thursday, April 11, 2024, is the last day for May graduation candidates to change grades of Incomplete and to obtain a final grade for a grade of X or a missing grade from a previous term.
  18. Students may begin applying for August or December graduation on Thursday, April 18, 2024, with the last day to file for August graduation set for June 6 and the last day to file for December graduation determined as the last day to enroll for Fall 2024.
  19. On Friday, April 19, 2024, an Honors Convocation will be held.
  20. Monday, April 22, 2024, is the last day to declare a course pass/fail (see UG catalog for specific information), drop a course (grade of W), and withdraw from the University (grades of W), with this date not applying to courses in which the last class meeting and final exam have occurred.
  21. There will be no final examinations or unscheduled tests and papers from Thursday, April 25, 2024, to Tuesday, April 30, 2024.
  22. Friday, April 26, 2024, is the last day for oral/written examinations for graduate students who are May degree candidates.
  23. Tuesday, April 30, 2024, marks the last day of classes, following a Friday schedule.
  24. Wednesday, May 1, 2024, is designated as the Reading Day.
  25. Examinations will take place from Thursday, May 2, 2024, to Wednesday, May 8, 2024, with no examinations scheduled for Sunday.
  26. Thursday, May 9, 2024, is the date when the residence halls will officially close for non-graduating students.
  27. Friday, May 10, 2024, is scheduled for the Baccalaureate.
  28. Saturday, May 11, 2024, is designated for the May Commencement, marking the official close of the term and conferral of degrees.
  29. Sunday, May 12, 2024, is when the residence halls will officially close for graduating senior
Also Check  Academic Calendar 2023-2024 at UMass: Important Dates

It’s important to note that the SMU academic calendar is subject to change, and students should always refer to the official calendar available on the university website for the most up-to-date information.

You can also contact your academic advisor or the university registrar’s office for any questions or concerns regarding the academic calendar. For more on SMU academic calendar, visit the Southern Methodist University calendar website.

Leave a Comment