Academic Calender

Syracuse Academic Calendar 2023-2024 Overview

The Syracuse University academic calendar for the 2023-2024 academic year is a comprehensive guide outlining important dates, events, and deadlines for students, faculty, and staff. This calendar is essential for planning coursework, extracurricular activities, and other commitments throughout the year.

Syracuse University uses a semester system that includes Fall, Spring, and Summer. Each semester is approximately 15 weeks long.

Summer 2023

Maymester Monday, May 15 – Friday, May 26
Regular Academic Session Monday, May 15 – Friday, August 25
Mid-semester progress report Wednesday, June 28 – Wednesday July 12
Memorial Day (University offices closed) Monday, May 29
Six Week First Session Monday, May 22 – Friday, June 30
Twelve Week Session Monday, May 22 – Friday, August 11
Mid-semester progress report Six Week First Session Friday, June 9 – Wednesday, June 14
Juneteenth (no residential classes) Monday, June 19
Degree Award Date Friday, June 30
Mid-semester progress report Twelve Week Session Friday, June 30 – Friday, July 7
Six Week Second Session Monday, July 3 – Friday, August 11
Independence Day (University offices closed) Tuesday, July 4
Mid-semester progress report Six Week Second Session Friday, July 21 – Wednesday, July 26
Degree Award Date Friday, August 25

Fall 2023

Registration for new graduate students Tuesday, August 1
Schedule adjustment for returning undergraduate students Wednesday, August 16 – Tuesday, September 5
Syracuse Welcome Saturday, August 26 – Sunday, August 27
First day of classes/Extended Campus Classes Monday, August 28
Late registration and schedule adjustment Monday, August 28 – Tuesday, September 5
Labor Day (no residential classes, University offices closed) Monday, September 4
Add deadline Tuesday, September 5
Early-semester progress report Monday, September 11 – Friday, September 15
Academic/Financial deadline to drop class Monday, September 18
Grading option deadline to elect or rescind audit Monday, September 18
Grading option deadline to elect or rescind pass/fail Monday, September 18
Religious observance notification deadline Monday, September 18
Fall Break, excluding LAW (no residential classes) Monday, October 9 – Tuesday, October 10
Midterm Wednesday, October 18
Mid-semester progress report Thursday, October 19 – Thursday, October 26
Registration for Winterlude Wednesday, November 8 -Thursday, December 21
Registration for Spring 2024 Wednesday, November 8 – Tuesday, January 23
Thanksgiving Break (no residential classes, University offices open Monday through Wednesday) Sunday, November 19 – Sunday, November 26
Withdrawal deadline Tuesday, November 28
Last day of classes Tuesday, December 12
Reading days Wednesday, December 13; Saturday, December 16 – Sunday, December 17
Final examinations Thursday, December 14 – Friday, December 15; Monday, December 18 – Tuesday, December 19
Last day of the semester Tuesday, December 19
Degree Award Date Friday, December 22
Final grades due from faculty Thursday, December 28
*More detailed dates are made available to campus on the Office of the Registrar Answers site.
Also Check  UNF Academic Calendar 2023-2024

Winterlude 2024 (Spring Session)

Registration for Winterlude Wednesday, November 8 -Thursday December 21
Winterlude begins Wednesday, December 20
Winterlude add deadline Thursday, December 21
Winterlude pass/fail deadline Tuesday, December 26
Winterlude academic/financial drop deadline Tuesday, December 26
Winterlude withdrawal deadline Monday, January 8
Winterlude ends Friday, January 12
Martin Luther King Jr. Day (no residential classes, University offices closed) Monday, January 15
Winterlude grades due Tuesday, January 16

Spring 2024

Registration for new graduate students Tuesday, January 2
Winter Welcome new undergraduate registration Saturday, January 13 – Sunday, January 14
Martin Luther King Jr. Day (no residential classes, University offices closed) Monday, January 15
First day of classes Tuesday, January 16
Late registration and schedule adjustment Tuesday, January 16 – Tuesday, January 23
Add deadline Tuesday, January 23
Early-semester progress report Monday, January 29 – Friday, February 2
Academic/Financial deadline to drop class Tuesday, February 6
Grading option deadline (choose pass/fail or audit) Tuesday, February 6
Religious Observance Notification Deadline Tuesday, February 6
Midterm Tuesday, March 5
Mid-semester progress report Wednesday, March 6 – Wednesday, March 20
Spring Break (no residential classes) Sunday, March 10 – Sunday, March 17
Registration for Summer 2024 Wednesday, March 20
Registration for Fall 2024 Wednesday, April 3 –Friday, June 28
Withdrawal deadline Tuesday, April 16
Last day of classes Monday, April 29
Reading days Tuesday, April 30, Wednesday, May 1; Saturday, May 4 – Sunday, May 5
Final examinations Thursday, May 2 – Friday, May 3; Monday, May 6 – Tuesday, May 7
Last day of the Semester Tuesday, May 7
Commencement Weekend Saturday, May 11 – Sunday, May 12
Degree Award Date Sunday, May 12
Final grades due from faculty Wednesday, May 15
Also Check  UH Manoa Academic Calendar 2023-2024

Summer 2024

Maymester Monday, May 13 – Friday, May 24
Regular Academic Session Monday, May 13 – Friday, August 23
Six Week First Session Monday, May 20 – Friday, June 28
Twelve Week Session Monday, May 20 – Friday, August 9
Memorial Day (no residential classes, University offices closed) Monday, May 27
Maymester final grades due from faculty Thursday, June 6
Mid-semester progress report Six Week First Session Friday, June 7 – Wednesday, June 12
Juneteenth (no residential classes, University offices closed) Wednesday, June 19
Regular Academic Session mid-semester progress report Wednesday, June 26 – Wednesday, July 10
Degree Award Date Friday, June 28
Mid-semester progress report Twelve Week Session Friday, June 28 – Friday, July 5
Independence Day (no residential classes, University offices closed) Thursday, July 4
Six Week Second Session Monday, July 1 – Friday, August 9
Six Week First Session final grades due from faculty Thursday, July 11
Mid-semester progress report Six Week Second Session Friday, July 19 – Friday, July 26
Degree Award Date Friday, August 23
Six Week Second Session, Twelve Week Session and Regular Academic Session final grades due from faculty Thursday, August 29

Classes that do not follow the regular semester calendar may have deadlines that vary from these dates. Contact the appropriate department that offers these classes or programs for additional information. All dates may be subject to change at the discretion of the University.

For more on Syracuse academic calendar 2023-2024, visit the Syracuse University calendar webpage.

Leave a Comment