Academic Calender

UMN Academic Calendar 2023-2024

It is critical to note the specific start and end dates, registration dates, holidays, semester breaks, and other important dates and deadlines of the UMN academic calendar 2023-2024.

The semester system is used at the University of Minnesota Twin Cities. The school year is divided into two semesters: fall and spring. Each semester is approximately 15 weeks long, with a break between the winter and summer break semesters.

The Fall semester begins in early September and ends in December, according to the University of Minnesota Twin Cities Academic Calendar 2023-2024. The Spring semester begins in mid-January and runs until the end of May. Furthermore, the university may offer a Summer term with multiple sessions, allowing students to take classes during the summer months.

UMN academic calendar fall 2023

Check out the important dates and deadlines on the UMN academic calendar for Fall 2023.

  1. Fall 2023 semester registration begins for students admitted to degree or certificate programs on Thursday, April 13, 2023.
  2. Fall registration opens for non-degree and visiting students on Friday, May 5, 2023.
  3. August 2023 graduation application deadline for graduate and professional students (monthly clearances only) is Tuesday, August 1, 2023.
  4. On the UMN Fall 2023 calendar, September 2023 graduation application deadline for graduate and professional students (monthly clearances only) is Friday, September 1, 2023.
  5. The University of Minnesota is closed for the Labor Day holiday on Monday, September 4, 2023. There are no classes.
  6. UMN Fall 2023 classes start on Tuesday, September 5, 2023. It is the first day of classes, the start of the fall full semester, and the first 7-week sessions.
  7. A $50 late fee is charged on Tuesday, September 5, 2023, for initial registration during the first 14 days of the semester.
  8. The first billing statement for fall 2023 is available on Saturday, September 9, 2023.
  9. The payment plan is available for enrollment on Saturday, September 9, 2023.
  10. On the UMN Fall 2023 calendar, Monday, September 18, 2023, is the last day to receive a 75% tuition refund for dropping full semester classes.
  11. A $100 late fee is charged for initial registration after the first 14 days of the semester on Tuesday, September 19, 2023
  12. The last day to apply for fall 2023 undergraduate graduation is Tuesday, September 19, 2023.
  13. Fall 2023 payment is due in full (or first payment if enrolled in the payment plan) on Friday, September 22, 2023.
  14. Monday, September 25, 2023, is the last day to receive a 50% tuition refund for dropping full semester classes.
  15. The last day to receive a 25% tuition refund for dropping full-semester classes is Monday, October 2, 2023.
  16. The second billing statement for Fall is available on Monday, October 9, 2023. The due date is October 22, 2023.
  17. Fall payment due in full (or second payment if enrolled in the payment plan) on Sunday, October 22, 2023.
  18. Tuesday, October 24, 2023, is the start of the Fall’s second 7-week session.
  19. November graduation application deadline for graduate and professional students (monthly clearances only) is Wednesday, November 1, 2023.
  20. The Third billing statement for Fall is available on Thursday, November 9, 2023. The due date is November 22, 2023.
  21. Monday, November 13, 2023, is the last day to drop full-semester classes without college approval. A “W” is recorded on the transcript.
  22. The fall payment is due in full (or a third payment if enrolled in the payment plan) on Wednesday, November 22, 2023.
  23. UMN Thanksgiving break 2023 is from Thursday, November 23, 2023, to Friday, November 24, 2023. Classes resume on Monday, November 27, 2023.
  24. December graduation application deadline for graduate and professional students (monthly clearances only) is Friday, December 1, 2023.
  25. The last day of classes for Fall 2023 is Wednesday, December 13, 2023.
  26. Fall 2023 Study Days are Thursday, December 14, 2023, and Sunday, December 17, 2023. There are no classes.
  27. UMN Fall 2023 Final exams are from Friday, December 15, 2023, to Thursday, December 21, 2023.
  28. The UMN fall 2023 semester ends on Thursday, December 21, 2023.
  29. The University of Minnesota is closed from Friday, December 22, 2023.
  30. UMN winter break 2023 is from Friday, December 22, 2023, to Monday, January 15, 2024.
Also Check  CWRU Academic Calendar 2023-2024

UMN Move in day fall 2023

UMN Move-in day for Fall 2023 is from Sunday, August 27, 2023, to Monday, September 4, 2023.

New and returning students eagerly anticipate the UMN Move-in day for Fall 2023 at the University of Minnesota Twin Cities. The move-in dates span from Sunday, August 27, 2023, to Monday, September 4, 2023, accommodating various schedules and preferences.

First-year students (Freshmen) can move in on Monday, August 28 and Tuesday, August 29, with assistance available to ensure a smooth and efficient process.

Early move-in appointments on Sunday, August 27, are also offered for those seeking a quieter and less crowded experience.

Students unable to move in on the designated dates can arrive between Wednesday, August 30 and Monday, September 4, though no assistance will be available.

Sophomores and transfer students attending Welcome Week have a dedicated move-in day on Wednesday, August 30, where moving carts are available for check-out.

Remember, UMN welcome week 2023 is from Wednesday, August 30, 2023, to Monday, September 4, 2023.

For all other students, move-in appointments are available between September 2 and 4, and moving carts can be used, but no assistance is provided.

During move-in, students and their helpers are guided by residence hall staff to expedite the unloading process and find designated parking. Meals are provided for meal plan holders, and helpers can purchase a meal to join in the dining hall.

UMN’s Move-in day marks the beginning of an exciting journey for students as they transition into campus life and immerse themselves in the enriching experiences of the upcoming academic year.

Also Check  MIT Academic Calendar 2023-2024

UMN academic calendar Spring 2024

Check out the important dates and deadlines on the UMN academic calendar for Spring 2024.

  1. Spring 2024 semester registration begins for students admitted to degree or certificate programs on Tuesday, November 14, 2023.
  2. Spring 2024 registration opens for non-degree and visiting students on Friday, December 8, 2023, according to the UMN Spring Semester 2024.
  3. The fourth billing statement for spring 2024 is available on Saturday, December 9, 2023.
  4. The fifth billing statement for spring 2024 is available on Saturday, December 30, 2023.
  5. January 2024 graduation application deadline for graduate and professional students is Monday, January 1, 2024.
  6. Spring payment is due in full (for new charges and/or past-due balances) on Friday, January 12, 2024.
  7. The University of Minnesota is closed for Martin Luther King Jr. Day on Monday, January 15, 2024. There are no classes.
  8. UMN Spring 2024 classes start on Tuesday, January 16, 2024. It is the first day of classes, the start of the spring full semester, and the first 7-week sessions.
  9. A $50 late fee is charged for initial registration during the first 14 days of the semester on Tuesday, January 16, 2024.
  10. The first billing statement for spring is available (due date: February 1, 2024) on Friday, January 19, 2024.
  11. The payment plan is available for enrollment on Friday, January 19, 2024.
  12. Monday, January 29, 2024, is the last day to receive a 75% tuition refund for dropping full semester classes.
  13. A $100 late fee is charged for initial registration after the first 14 days of the semester on Tuesday, January 30, 2024.
  14. The last day to apply for spring undergraduate graduation is Tuesday, January 30, 2024.
  15. February graduation application deadline for graduate and professional students (monthly clearances only) is Thursday, February 1, 2024.
  16. Spring payment is due in full (or first payment if enrolled in the payment plan) on Thursday, February 1, 2024.
  17. Monday, February 5, 2024, is the last day to receive a 50% tuition refund for dropping full semester classes.
  18. The last day to submit a 13-credit exemption request is Friday, February 9, 2024.
  19. Monday, February 12, 2024, is the last day to receive a 25% tuition refund for dropping full semester classes.
  20. The second billing statement for spring is available on Monday, February 19, 2024. The due date is March 3, 2024.
  21. March 2024 graduation application deadline for graduate and professional students (monthly clearances only) is Friday, March 1, 2024.
  22. Spring payment is due in full (or a second payment if enrolled in the payment plan on Friday, March 1, 2024.
  23. UMN Spring Break 2024 is from Monday, March 4, 2024, to Friday, March 8, 2024. Classes resume on Monday, March 11, 2024.
  24. The third billing statement for spring will be available on Tuesday, March 19, 2024. The due date is April 1, 2024.
  25. Monday, April 1, 2024, is the last day to drop full semester classes without college approval. “W” is recorded on the transcript.
  26. April graduation application deadline for graduate and professional students (monthly clearances only) is Monday, April 1, 2024.
  27. Spring payment is due in full (or a third payment if enrolled in the payment plan) on Monday, April 1, 2024.
  28. The fourth billing statement for spring will be available on Friday, April 19, 2024. New charges and past-due balances only, due May 2, 2024).
  29. The last day of classes for the UMN Spring Semester 2024 is Monday, April 29, 2024.
  30. UMN Spring Semester 2024 Study days are Tuesday, April 30, 2024, and Wednesday, May 1, 2024.
  31. May graduation application deadline for graduate and professional students (monthly clearances only) is Wednesday, May 1, 2024.
  32. Spring payment is due in full (for new charges and/or past-due balances) on Thursday, May 2, 2024.
  33. UMN Spring Semester 2024 Final exams are from Thursday, May 2, 2024, to Wednesday, May 8, 2024.
  34. UMN Spring Semester 2024 ends Wednesday, May 8, 2024.
  35. The fifth billing statement for spring is available on Friday, May 10, 2024. The due date is Thursday, May 23, 2024, for new charges and past-due balances only.
Also Check  Brown academic calendar 2023-2024

UMN Spring Break 2024

UMN Spring Break 2024 is from Monday, March 4, 2024, to Friday, March 8, 2024. Classes resume on Monday, March 11, 2024.

During UMN Spring Break 2024, University of Minnesota Twin Cities students can look forward to a week of well-deserved rest and relaxation.

From Monday, March 4, 2024, to Friday, March 8, 2024, the campus will be abuzz with students enjoying various activities and making the most of their time off from classes.

Whether exploring the vibrant city of Minneapolis, participating in organized events, or simply taking a much-needed break at home, students can recharge and rejuvenate before the final stretch of the academic year.

As the University of Minnesota spring break 2024 ends, students will return to classes on Monday, March 11, 2024, feeling refreshed and ready to tackle their academic pursuits with renewed enthusiasm.

For more on the UMN academic calendar 2023-2024, visit the University of Minnesota calendar website.

Leave a Comment