Academic Calender

UVA Academic Calendar 2023-2024: Important Dates

The University of Virginia (UVA) is a public research university in Charlottesville, Virginia, United States. Founded in 1819 by Thomas Jefferson, it is the first and longest serving public member of the Association of American Universities (AAU). The university is classified among “R1: Doctoral Universities – Very high research activity”.

UVA is a highly selective university with an acceptance rate of 20.7%. It is known for its strong academic programs, particularly in the arts and sciences, humanities, and social sciences. The university is also home to a number of highly ranked professional schools, including the Darden School of Business, the School of Law, and the School of Medicine.

UVA’s campus is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and is known for its beautiful architecture and landscaping. The university also has a vibrant student life, with over 400 student organizations and clubs.

In short, UVA is a world-class public research university with a strong academic reputation, a beautiful campus, and a vibrant student life.

On the UVA academic calendar 2023-2024, here are enrollment dates, UVA holiday schedules, UVA law significant events, and deadlines. The semester system is used at the University of Virginia. They are divided into three seasons: fall, spring, and summer. A semester at UVA lasts 14-16 weeks.

The Schools of Law, Medicine, and Graduate Business, as well as several programs geared for working executives, follow separate academic calendars.

UVA academic calendar fall 2023

Check out the important dates, deadlines, and enrollment dates for the fall 2023 semester on the UVA academic calendar 2023-2024.

  1. Friday, June 30, 2023 is the deadline to Apply for Readmission for Fall 2023 Semester (Use eForm in SIS; late forms will not be accepted).
  2. Open Enrollment for New Graduate students is on Friday, June 30, 2023.
  3. The Last Day to Apply for Readmission for Fall 2023 Term (use eForm in SIS; late forms are not accepted) is Saturday, July 1, 2023.
  4. Open Enrollment for New Undergraduate students is on Wednesday, August 2, 2023.
  5. To avoid cancellation and deactivation in the Student Information System, UVA students must be enrolled in at least one class for the Fall 2023 semester by 5:00 pm on Friday, August 25, 2023. If your Fall 2023 term was cancelled because you were unable to enrol prior to the 5:00 pm deadline on Friday, August 25th, you must contact the registrar at your school of enrollment for reactivation.
  6. UVA Students can Apply for December 2023 Graduation in UVA SIS from Wednesday, August 2 – Saturday, September 30, 2023.
  7. Lawn residents’ move-in is Friday, August 11, 2023.
  8. Students attending Orientation Session K is Tuesday, August 15, 2023.
  9. UVA move-in day 2023, Fall Arrival and Welcome is from August 17, 2023 to August 21, 2023.
  10. Incoming first-year students move-in day is on Thursday, August 17 or Friday, August 18, depending on your room assignment.
  11. Incoming transfer students’ move-in day is Saturday, August 19, 2023 on the UVA academic calendar 2023-2024.
  12. Returning second-year students move in is Saturday, August 19, 2023.
  13. Returning third-year and fourth-year students (except Lawn) move-in is Sunday, August 20, 2023, or later.
  14. Monday, August 21, 2023 is the deadline to File for a Leave of Absence for Fall 2023. Learn more about UVA Collab.
  15. UVA fall 2023 classes start on Tuesday, August 22, 2023. The first day of classes for fall 2023.
  16. Advising for New Students begins on Tuesday, August 22, 2023 to Friday, September 1, 2023.
  17. Labor Day holiday is September 4, 2023 on the UVA academic calendar 2023-2024.
  18. UVA Add date is September 5, 2023. It is the Last Day to
    • Add a Class
    • Select the AU (Audit) Option
    • Change to or from “Credit/No Credit” Option
    • Request Part-Time Status for Semester
    • Request Reduced Course Load for Semester
  19. Drop without W (course removed from transcript) date is September 6, 2023 (The last day to drop a class), October 10, 2023 for Engineering students, and September 6 for UVA Law students.
  20. Friday, September 29, 2023 is the last day of classes before Reading Day.
  21. UVA Fall break 2023 (Reading Days) is from Saturday, September 30, 2023, to Tuesday, October 3, 2023. Classes Resume on Wednesday, October 4, 2023 after the University of Virginia fall break 2023, according to UVA academic calendar schedules.
  22. Tuesday, October 17, 2023 is the last day to Withdraw from a Course (Use SIS).
  23. Drop with W date is October 17, 2023 and December 6, 2023 for Law students.
  24. UVA Family Weekend 2023 is from November 3, 2023 to November 5, 2023.
  25. Students may Apply in SIS for May 2023 Graduation between Tuesday, November 1 2022 – Monday, December 5 2022.
  26. Election Day is on November 7, 2023. There are no classes on this day.
  27. Friday, November 17 2023 is the last day to Withdraw from the University & Return for Spring 2024 Semester (use SIS eForm).
  28. Tuesday, November 21, 2023 is the last day of Classes before Thanksgiving Break.
  29. UVA Thanksgiving break 2023 is from Wednesday, November 22, 2023 to Sunday, November 26, 2023. Classes Resume on Monday, November 27, 2023, after Thanksgiving break according to UVA academic calendar 2023-2024 schedules.
  30. Wednesday, November 29, 2023 is the last day to Request a Change in the Examination Schedule.
  31. UVA fall 2023 classes end on Tuesday, December 5, 2023.
  32. Tuesday, December 5, 2023 is the last day for Fourth-Semester Students to Declare a Major.
  33. Reading Days are December 10, 2023, and December 13, 2023.
  34. Fall 2023 Final Examinations period is Thursday, December 7, 2023, to Friday, December 15, 2023.
  35. Friday, December 15, 2023 at 5:00 PM is the deadline to Withdraw from the Semester.
  36. UVA winter break 2023 is from Saturday, December 16, 2023, to Tuesday, January 16, 2024.
Also Check  RIT Academic Calendar 2023-2024

Watch the University of Virginia video webinar about UVA Fall 2022 move-in day. Topics include tasks to complete prior to arrival, what to bring, move-in dates and appointments, what to expect during move-in days, and much more. This video should guide in what to expect for the UVA fall 2023 move in day. For other important dates, view the UVA fall 2023 calendar above.

Move-Out Information for 2023 will be shared in the spring of 2023 on the UVA academic calendar 2023-2024.

UVA academic calendar spring 2024

Check out the important dates, deadlines, and enrollment dates for the Spring 2024 semester on the UVA academic calendar 2023-2024.

  1. Application for J-Term & Spring Readmission is Available on SIS in September 2022.
  2. Class Search is Available for Spring 2023 Classes in October 2022.
  3. Advising for Spring 2023 Course Selection is in mid-October 2022.
  4. Undergraduate Enrollment for Spring 2023 Begins in Early November 2022 (check UVA SIS for specific appointments).
  5. Thursday, December 1 2022 is the last day to Apply for Readmission for the Spring 2023 Term (Use eForm in SIS; late forms will not be accepted).
  6. January term classes begin on January 2, 2023 to January 13, 2023.
  7. Martin Luther King Day Holiday is Monday, January 16 2022 on the UVA academic calendar 2022-2023.
  8. Tuesday, January 17 2022 is the deadline to request a Leave of Absence for the Spring 2023 Term (use eForm in SIS).
  9. UVA Spring 2023 classes start on Wednesday, January 18 2023. The first day of Spring classes 2023.
  10. The Last Day to Add a Class is Wednesday, February 1 2023.
  11. According to UVA academic calendar, Wednesday, February 1 2023 is the last day to;
    • Select the AU (Audit) Option.
    • Change to or from “Credit/No Credit” Option.
    • Request Part-Time Status/Reduced Course Load (the add deadline).
  12. The last day to Drop a Class is Thursday, February 2 2023.
  13. Friday, March 3 2023 is the last day of Classes before Spring Recess 2023.
  14. UVA Spring break 2023 is from Saturday, March 4 2023 to Sunday, March 12 2023.
  15. Classes Resume after Spring break holidays on Monday, March 13 2023.
  16. Wednesday, March 15 2023 is the last day to Withdraw from a Course.
  17. UVA Students may Apply for August 2023 Graduation in UVA SIS on Friday, April 1 2023 (tentative).
  18. Wednesday, April 26 2023 is the last day to Request a Change in the Examination Schedule.
  19. Spring 2023 Classes end on Tuesday, May 2 2023.
  20. Tuesday, May 2 2023 is the deadline for Fourth-Semester Students to Declare a Major.
  21. Reading Days are Wednesday, May 3 2023, Sunday, May 7 2023, and Wednesday, May 10 2023.
  22. Spring 2023 examinations period is from Thursday, May 4 2023 to Friday, May 12 2023.
  23. Friday, May 12 2023 is the last day to Withdraw from the Semester. Requires Advance Notice and Paper Form if any grades have been posted (students should contact their Association Dean in the College) according to UVA academic calendar 2022-2023.
  24. Spring 2023 final grades are due 48 hours after Final Exam on Monday, May 15 2023.
  25. UVA Finals Weekend 2023 exercises period is Friday, May 19 2023 – Sunday, May 21 2023.
  26. Friday, June 9 2023 is the deadline for Completing Authorized Incompletes from the Spring Semester.
  27. Saturday, July 1 (tentative) is the last day to Apply for August 2023 Graduation.
Also Check  SMU Academic Calendar 2023-2024

UVA holiday schedule 2023

Here is the University of Virginia, UVA holiday schedule 2023. These dates are available on the UVA academic calendar 2023-2024.

UVA holidays Dates
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 16, 2023
Spring Break 2023 Saturday, March 4, 2023 – Sunday, March 12, 2023
Memorial Day Monday, May 29, 2023
Juneteenth (observed) Monday, June 19, 2023
Independence Day Monday, July 4, 2023
Labor Day Monday, September 4, 2023
Fall break 2023 Saturday, September 30, 2023 – Tuesday, October 3, 2023
Thanksgiving break 2023 Wednesday, November 22, 2023 – Sunday, November 26, 2023
UVA Winter Break 2023 Saturday, December 16, 2023 – Tuesday, January 16, 2024
UVA holiday schedule 2023.

UVA holiday schedule 2023

For more on UVA Academic Calendar 2023-2024, visit the University of Virginia registrar page.